Officials for tonight’s Final Four games announced

Update: After sending out original release, NCAA now says it made a mistake on officials for Louisville-Wichita State game. This post has now been corrected.

ATLANTA — The NCAA released the names of the officials for the two Final Four games to be played at the Georgia Dome tonight.

Les Jones, Tony Greene and John Higgins will work the Louisville-Wichita State game. Jones will be calling his fifth consecutive Final Four. This is the seventh Final Four for Greene, the fourth for Higgins.

Jones worked three Kentucky games this year. He worked Maryland, Notre Dame and Eastern Michigan. Greene worked seven UK games. He worked Duke, Portland, the Vandy game in Nashville, Tennessee at Rupp, Auburn at Rupp, the Florida game in Gainesville and Florida at Rupp. John Higgins hasn’t worked a Kentucky game since the Cats’ Final Four loss to Connecticut in 2011.

Les Jones, Karl Hess and Terry Wymer will work Louisville-Wichita State. Hess worked three UK games this year. He worked Notre Dame, Samford and Alabama. Wymer hasn’t worked a UK game since 2006.

Mark Whitehead, Randall McCall and Doug Sirmons will work the Syracuse-Michigan game. This is the fourth Final Four for both Whitehead and McCall. It’s the first for Sirmons.

Whitehead worked three UK games this year. He worked Lafayette, the Auburn game at Rupp and the game at Tennessee. (He also worked last year’s national championship game when Kentucky beat Kansas.) McCall has not worked a UK game since the Cats’ East Region final win over North Carolina in 2011. Sirmons worked just one Kentucky game this year, the home-floor loss to Baylor back in December.

Mike Eades is the standby official for both Final Four games today.

The officiating crew for Monday night’s championship game will be announced that morning.

This entry was posted in College basketball. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply