John Calipari only coach to reach last five Sweet 16s

(H-L photo/Charles Bertram)

When researching the ¬†schools that have reached the NCAA Tournament’s Sweet 16 the past five years, a couple of things stand out.

John Calipari is the only coach in college basketball to have taken a team to the Sweet 16 in each of the past five years.

Calipari’s Memphis teams reached the Sweet 16 in both 2008 and 2009, advancing all the way to the title game in 2008. Calipari’s first three Kentucky teams have also reached the Sweet. The 2010 Cats lost in the Elite Eight. The 2011 Cats lost in the Final Four. The 2012 Cats play Indiana in a Sweet 16 game on Friday at 9:45 p.m. in Atlanta.

No school has reached the Sweet 16 in each of the five years.

Four schools have advanced this far four of the five years. Three are schools you would expect — Kansas (2008, 2009, 2011 and 2012); Michigan State (2008, 2009, 2010, 2012) and North Carolina (2008, 2009, 2011, 2012).

Xavier is the fourth school on that list. The Muskies have been to the Sweet 16 in 2008, 2009, 2010 and now 2012. They did it under Sean Miller in 2008 and 2009. His successor, Chris Mack, has taken X to the Sweet 16 in 2010 and now 2012. Xavier plays Baylor on Friday in Atlanta.

Here’s the chart:


Related links:

This entry was posted in College basketball, UK basketball. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply